Easy Homemade Blackberry Pie

I just got through with an eight page report on molecular cloning of the “glow” gene (GFP) that is found in jellyfish.

My brain hurts, but instead of backing away from the computer to regain some of my sanity, I thought I’d write a blog post.

A blog post about pie. Pie makes everything better.

I have a confession: I don’t like blackberries. And we keep getting them in our CSA box every week and I’m all “What the crap am I supposed to do with all of these blackberries?!”

I can’t believe I’ve found a fruit I don’t like. But seriously- if I had to pick a kickball team (made up of fruits), poor ol’ blackberry would be the last picked. (In case you’re wondering, eggplant would be last picked for a veggie team.) Maybe I just have a weird thing with purple foods. I don’t like grape-flavored things either. I’m just a weirdo.

Mainly I’ve been using the blackberries as a fruit spread on pancakes. I just put them in a big skillet with a little water and some sugar and reduce them down to a mushy, sweet, savory mess. It’s the only way I can stand them- or so I thought.

Then one day I’m sitting on the couch, pouting because there’s no dessert in the house and I can’t live without dessert, wah wah wah…woe is me. Then I think: “I’ll make pie! Blackberry pie!” Eureka.

Thus, this pie was born:

 

???????????????????????????????

**Just a note– the crust recipe is from my mind and an ex-boss. I’ve been given mixed reviews about the crust for this pie- I’m going to say that if you like crunchy, chewy crust, you may want to substitute your own crust recipe into this recipe. I like my crust soft and with a melt-in-your-mouth texture, so I’m a fan of this one…and if you like it that way, you may be too. But the filling is awesome no matter what crust you use. Amen.**

**Also- feel free to substitute any fruit into the filling. I’ve subbed with strawberries and blueberries and it was still amazing! (I do not recommend using frozen fruit)**

Easy Homemade Blackberry Pie

Filling:

  • 3-4 cups fresh blackberries
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice

Pie Crust: (cut in half if you only want a bottom crust and not a top crust)

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup canola oil (I use canola oil as a vegan substitute for butter or vegetable shortening)

Preheat the oven to 425.

Prepare the filling by adding all the ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Mix until the blackberries (or other fruit) is coated with sugar throughout. Set aside while you prepare the crust.

Prepare the crust by adding all ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Mix with a wooden spoon until the oil is mixed into all of the flour.

Spread half of the crust into a greased pie pan, using your fingers to guide the crust to the edges and up the sides of the pan. Using your hands, try to make the bottom as smooth as you can.

Pour in the filling. Using a wooden spoon, even out the top of the filling as best you can. Now it’s time to add the other half of the crust.

There really is no gracious, perfect way to do this. I use a rolling pin coated with flour to spread out the crust as best I can. Then I gently pick it up and lay it over the pie filling. Other times, I take pieces of the pie crust and flatten them in my hands and then lay them on top…whatever works best for you.

Bake for 15 minutes at 425.

Then, turn the oven down to 375 and bake for 45 more minutes or until bubbling over.

 

???????????????????????????????

 

 

Enjoy the deliciousness.  This lasted an entire two days in our house.

Mmmmm, pie. Pie is the answer to everything. You can put any gross ol’ thing into a pie and it would taste amazing.

Hmm…… eggplant pie?             No. I probably shouldn’t go there.

One thought on “Easy Homemade Blackberry Pie

  1. This looks delicious. I have blueberries that need to be used up and I think everyone is tired of blueberry pancakes and muffins, so this would be perfect. Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

