Closing & Home Happenings

Photo0192

We did it! We closed on our home yesterday! It was such a surreal experience.

I hardly slept the night before, we woke up at 7 to get our day started. First, we went to the bank to get the “big check” needed for closing. Then we went to the insurance company to get the home owner’s insurance squared away. Finally, we ended up sitting around a large conference table at a law office with the following people: our realtor, our mortgage lady, a representative of the city, a paralegal, and an attorney.  The stack of papers to sign was about           [        this wide              ]. The paralegal explained everything we were signing and answered any questions we had. Jason and I feel super lucky and blessed to have worked with such a great team, and three of them are our family friends…they all were so happy for us. It was a great morning 🙂

After all the papers were signed, they handed us copies of everything, including the deed to our new home! *Happy face!!*

Then, on top of all this happiness, our mortgage lady and realtor surprised us with gift cards to Lowe’s and Bed, Bath & Beyond. I love those ladies, they are so thoughtful. Jason and I went out for a celebratory lunch and then promptly went to Lowe’s to put that gift card to use! The first thing we wanted to do was to change all of the locks for the house. We shopped around for the best deal and it turns out Lowe’s was the best. We also tried Craigslist, but the options weren’t what we were looking for. Mainly, and I’ll be honest- Those bright golden door knobs had to go

I’ve never really decorated a home. When I was a teenager, I decorated my room with Korn, Rob Zombie, and SouthPark stuff. With a mix of beenie babies. Remember those? Nice mixture, huh? When I moved out of my moms house I rented an apartment that I felt like I couldn’t really do anything to, so I kept the walls plain and the “decor” minimal. Then I rented a house and decorated more, but still within boundaries. It feels so freeing to be able to do anything I want to our new house. I can do anything! If I want to paint the living room puke green…I can do it! But I don’t, so I won’t.

Jason and I are excited about making this home ours. So, as we search for the things we need, we are willing to let the process take a while in order to have pieces and items we really love instead of “substitution items”. The items that you buy after you say the following sentence “Well, it’s not really what I’m looking for, but it’ll do until…”. We aren’t doing that. When it came to the doorknobs, I knew it was time for the brass to go. We switched them out for oil-rubbed bronze and I loved the outcome. We hope to replace all of the cabinet/room doorknobs with this same style as well.

I should also mention that while in Lowe’s, I pretty much wanted to run down the aisles shouting “We’re homeowners! We’re homeowners!” But I just skipped happily and kept my mouth shut. I did however sing to Loretta once we got back to her (house). Some hugging may have taken place too.

So, today at the house, we changed out all of the locks. I went through all three of the bathrooms sweeping first, then mopping. Then scrubbing on my hands and knees, then mopping again. We steam-cleaned most of the carpet and started bringing some stuff in!

0729031626

Trixie's temporary spot on the mantle

Trixie’s temporary spot on the mantle

Funny story:

The next door neighbor has this 9 year old that likes to come talk to us whenever we are at the house. Today he came over and sat talking to me while I scrubbed the pink scum out of our big, loungy jet tub in the master (OMG, I can’t believe I just typed that sentence! I’ve never had a “master” or a jet tub!! God is so great!!!!). All of a sudden he says “Yeah, you better scrub that tub GOOD. My aunt used to live here in this room with her boyfriend, and he was naa-aaa-stttt-yyyyyy. [emphasis on the “nasty”]. I immediately pictured this big, hairy old guy wearing a gold chain soaking in the very tub I was cleaning. Then I pictured said guy soaking his corns after a long day at work. Ewwwwwwwww.

I scrubbed harder. That tub was sparkling clean when I got through with it, but I may give it another go around just to be safe.

I can’t tell you how blessed I feel.

One of my favorite spots in the house is one of the window seats by the fireplace (the one with the books piled on it). Sometimes I take a break from cleaning or playing with Marley and I just sit and bird watch. I tell Jesus “Thank You” over and over again. It’s funny- when I was telling my friend, Whitney, about how we got the house and how much Jason and I prayed for it and how it felt like home from the first time we stepped on the property…she said “Well, God knows your heart. He knows your desires and he wants to bless you.”

Psalm 37:4 says: “Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.”

This is so true.

We looked at many homes that were just OK, we even put in a bid on a couple that we would live in for a good starter home. Something that we didn’t want for too long of a time, but a good home “for right now”. Our dream was to ultimately live in a home surrounded by nature with a little bit of land. Something with a big kitchen and great natural light. Something tucked away, in our own little world. A peaceful and quiet home. No traffic zooming by on the highway, no cars in and out of the driveway, no visible neighbors…And God knew this. He showed off in a big way and gave us what our hearts truly desire.

Every time I look out onto the yard, I’m reminded of how great our God is.  His glory shines through the beautiful birds singing and the sunlight shining through the trees, and this makes my heart melt. Melt with a love for Him and all his creation. We can say “Thank you” to Him a million times over and it would never truly express how grateful Jason and I feel.


We are so in love with our new place ❤ ❤ 

Thanks for reading, I hope to do a tour soon. Also- blackberry pie and Rick Warren book review coming this week.

Xoxo

2 thoughts on “Closing & Home Happenings

Leave a Reply

